back again (Read 6444 times)
lynda51
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!
WI
Re: back again
Reply #15 - 12/06/11 at 19:43:44

Hi Jane,

The experts above have given you excellent advice.  I am new to all of this.  I was diagnosed with MCAD in Oct.  I have lost 40 pounds in the last year and a half...(most of it in the last few months because I couldn't eat anything! without having a reaction).  Even my five or six "safe" foods all of a sudden were no longer safe!

I saw my local doc, (who is my regular oncologist) last week.  HE works with my mast cell doc.  He put me on gastrocom.  I mixed the vial with water and  took one sip. I got severely dizzy and my heart started racing, etc.  I wrote for help on this site (thanks Joan) and she suggested I back off and start with a teaspoon or so every hour.  I hung in there for two days and now I am up to ONE vial a day.   I have heard the ketotifin is a great drug but my doc wasn't as familiar with it.  He was willing to try the gastrocom (which is a mast cell stabilizer). Although the Pepcid controls the stomach pain, the gastrocom seems to be the first medicine that has really made a difference as far as being able to put ANYTHING in my mouth and not have a reaction to it!!  Another idea as far as food being your biggest possible trigger right now, is to try pedialyte (it does have a lot of sugar in it and also citrus if that is a trigger for you) and/or baby food.  I started with a teaspoon every 15-30 minutes.  That way your system doesn't have to work so hard to digest anything! And that keeps those mast cells a bit calmer!!  (And you get a few vitamins in the process too!)