Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  YaBB is sponsored by XIMinc!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Shocked again lastnight (Read 8551 times)
Susan
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: Shocked again lastnight
Reply #15 - 05/13/11 at 05:42:48

Hi Ramona,

I personally think fibromyalgia is mostly a wastebasket diagnosis, where they put the people they can't figure out. It does help some to have a name they can put to their pain, but there is not a lot they can do to relieve it, and for some, it prevents looking into what the real cause is.

I'm not a doctor or nurse, but I do work in a doctor's office doing medical research. We work primarily with people who are very sick, that no one can figure out. I've seen a variety of ways the immune system can go haywire, though I am just learning about what mast cells can do.

I hope they figure out what is going on for you, soon. It may be you have multiple things going on, which muddies the picture. I'm glad you are moving ahead with getting testing, even though it isn't quite what you were originally hoping for.

I know a number of people who have low IgG subclasses, and they almost all find IgG infusions are extremely helpful. There may be complications for you with the masto, but most of them are very reactive to all kinds of things as well. You would need to start at MUCH lower doses than usually given, as IgG infusions can trigger activation in your immune system. You may not end up going down that path, but if so, be sure to go SLOW.