Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Synthroid??? (Read 4292 times)
Britt
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Synthroid???
01/22/13 at 14:13:33

Hi everyone! So I've been fighting taking synthroid for three years now after having a bad reaction to Armour ( bio identical thyroid taken from pigs) it made me super edgy and weird feeling. The problem with this is that I was not in a good place when I started taking it. The dots had not been connected between my urticaria and fragrances etc. and I was having severe "panic attacks" all the time. But nonetheless, I still believe it made me feel icky. A couple weeks ago, after some bloodwork, my gp said it was time to go on synthroid (this time synthetic thyroid) but I am so nervous. New medications give me so much anxiety! So my question is.....can anybody give me any good or not so good experiences on synthroid?? In general, does it seem to be an agreeable medication for people with mast cell disorders? Any comments would be greatly appreciated!!!! Of course I've googled side effects from Synthroid and all I get is a bunch of horror stories. But my rational side says that people don't post about good experiences, only the bad?!?!?
Joan, I've tried to personal message you back, but for some reason I haven't been getting the option to pm lately  Huh

IP Logged

BlueSkies
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: Synthroid???
Reply #1 - 01/22/13 at 16:01:16

Hi Brigitte,

PM is down for everyone today - and they are working on it!  

I take thyroid, and I have TMEP mastocytosis (cutaneous form, hope I spelled that right -it's late.)   I take the Armour thyroid, which works great for me.   I had problems with the syntheic ones, years ago.  No horror stories, just did not tolerate them well.   This is just my experience.   You can already see that I've reacted differently than you. (My impression is that reacting differently is the norm around here!   Smiley  )

I'm new at all of this, so I can't give you any general pros or cons about it.