Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
When to use epi or go to ER? (Read 4453 times)
DavinaRN
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

When to use epi or go to ER?
01/19/13 at 01:50:06

Being tested currently for MCAS, on Zantac 300mg and Allegra 360mg a day. The allergist gave me 4 refills on two pack epi. I know with bee allergy I wait for first sign of breathing issue, then inject. But my anaphylactic episode in Dec progressed from full body rash/flush to I'm "dying" in minutes and epi didn't fully resolve it alone. I do have script for trypase level within 2hrs of full body flush.  I really didn't care for this Ana episode in Dec, I feel safer dealing with the bees/fire ants. I know how to treat self and stay home (epi, Benadryl and medrol dose pack  Smiley )

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: When to use epi or go to ER?
Reply #1 - 01/20/13 at 15:35:01

Hi Davina!!!

I understand your concerns in wondering when you need to step in with an epi.  Most of us have these questions too!   According to Dr. Escribano's REMA protocols, the time to step in with an epi is when there is blood pressure changes.  Here is the link to these protocols.   You should copy them and put them into your glove compartment, etc.  And if you keep a pen drive on you for medical information this should be one of the first documents the ER people open - it's full of explanations and medications and do's and don'ts.

http://mastcelldisorders.wallack.us/yabb/YaBB.pl?num=1293571751