Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello looking for answers! (Read 1993 times)
Gumby
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!

Hello looking for answers!
10/18/12 at 04:40:19

Hello All!
I am new to this forum so please forgive any ignorance on my part. I have Ehlers-Danlos Hypermobility type just recently diagnosed and thought I had multiple food and drug allergies. Not so. After much confusion and being told by my PCP that I may have anxiey or depression ( really funny since I am a 2 nd year grad student in counseling:) that there must be something else cause my throat tightening, hard to breathe, abdominal pain diarhea 10-20 times a day, face flushing swelling, hives, rashes etc. i stumbled onto Mastocytosis and MCAS  on another forum  and asked my to have my tryptase drawn-  was 4.5.  Long story and 2 allergists later I have an appointment with Dr. Afrin Nov. 26. I have put my self on Z& Z which has helped but I must not be well controlled enough because I still am having GI problems off and on. Rashes, hives and angioedma in face and throat are better but I still can't wear make up without my eyes swelling the next day. Lots of my reactions seem to be in a time delay. Not sure if this is normal. Allergist # 2 was recommending a BMB which is why I decided to see Dr. Afrin. With the little I know a BMB seemed a bit over the top for a tryptase of 4.5. In an email Dr. Afrin agreed. I  need help now as I think it is making my EDS worse. Any help or tips are appreciated!
Gumby Cool

IP Logged

PamH
Mentor

Indianapolis, IN USA
Re: Hello looking for answers!
Reply #1 - 10/18/12 at 12:21:01

Gumby,
Welcome!  I am glad you found us!
It sounds like you are on the right track.  I was told the same thing,  an immediate care doc.  said that i had anxiety!  I was having anaphilaxis!