Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Benadryl (diphenhydramine) problems? (Read 5860 times)
Targs66
Rookie

Benadryl (diphenhydramine) problems?
04/24/12 at 03:37:34

I am pretty new to all this....

I started taking the "old" Benadryl (diphenhydramine) at night to help with sleep problems.  I am hypersensitive to meds so just a tiny crumb is enough to help me sleep.

However, I've noticed that in the past few weeks I have had some weird allergic-like reactions: I am terribly itchy all over my torso, my foot is numb and tingly and I've just been feeling worse than usual.  (I have chronic fatigue and dysautonomia, so I'm always feelign tired and ill, but can usually get at least a few hours of the day where I am reasonably functional.)

I noticed that the Benadryl insert lists as potential side effects what sounds like masto issues: difficulty breathing, swollen throat and tongue, and so on.  It makes me wonder - can Benadryl make some people's mast cell reactions worse, rather than better??

thanks in advance for any input!!

IP Logged

Anaphylaxing
Guru

Hang in there! You can
do it!

Re: Benadryl (diphenhydramine) problems?
Reply #1 - 04/24/12 at 10:55:10

Hi Targs

Everyone is different as far as which meds they can tolerate and which they can't, so it is good that you are being cautious. If your doc thinks it safe you could try stopping the benadryl for a time and see if those other symptoms go away. Later you could consider another anithistamine instead.

I get tingling and itching as part of my reactions be it to drugs, foods, smells etc

Keep us posted

IP Logged

Targs66
Rookie

Reply #2 - 04/26/12 at 03:03:34

Thanks for your reply...

Unfortunately, I don't have a doc - am in the UK and my GP just isn't interested.