Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  YaBB is sponsored by XIMinc!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Prolonged syncope? Shock & Exhaustion? Narcolepsy? WHAT??? (Read 16713 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Prolonged syncope? Shock & Exhaustion? Narcolepsy? WHAT???
03/11/12 at 13:16:40

I'm going to try to address these issues, but this is very complicated and don't know how well I'll be able to do this.  

First of all, remember, I am NOT a doctor and no matter how much I have studied this I still will have gaps in my understanding.  I have, however, been actively studying this subject since 2008 when my doctors began to witness this syncope after every single procedure they put me through.  The REMA protocols protected me during the procedurs themselves, but this prolonged syncope is an extreme reaction that IN MY CASE could not keep me from undergoing the syncope.  I have spoken repeatedly with both Dr. Castells and Dr. Escribano about this as well as a number of the other masto authorities in both Europe and the US.  I seem to be the queen of this reaction and it is due to the frequency of this reaction and the fact that here in Brazil there are no authorities I can run to for help to investigate this.  Not being content with "I don't know"  is what forced me to seek for understanding and answers.  We've had some good success!

===================================================

Prolonged Syncope was coined by French cardiologists in 1992 investigating an unusual situation of prolonged unconsciousness.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8024376

Arch Mal Coeur Vaiss. 1993 Dec;86(12):1747-52.
[A rare cause of loss of consciousness: mastocytosis. Apropos of 3 cases].
[Article in French]
Dacosta A, Guy JM, Cathebras P, Perrot JL, Decousus H, Tardy B, Gonthier R, Lamaud M, Rousset H, Verneyre H.
Source
Service de cardiologie, Hôpital Nord, Saint-Priest-en-Jarez.
Abstract