Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ice cream (Read 6179 times)
Anaphylaxing
Guru

Hang in there! You can
do it!

Ice cream
01/08/12 at 11:14:14

I've found I can tolerate organic milk but not regular. I'm thinking about making my own ice cream. I read somewhere the curdled cheeses, milk and ice cream are not high in histamine.

Do you experts agree with this? You might all be starting to notice that I have quite the sweet tooth Wink

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Ice cream
Reply #1 - 01/09/12 at 05:25:17

Oh gosh, sounds like WORK!!!  

But with all the thousand and one flavors out there, including all the ones that almost don't even use milk and are almost 100% chemicals, is there NOT ONE which doesn't use some other kind of organic milk or something like that you could tolerate??????

Don´t forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

Joan
FORUM ADVISOR

Colorado
Reply #2 - 01/09/12 at 06:34:15

I can tolerate all "fresh" dairy products, but only use organic if at all possible.  I don't eat aged cheese, except for a tiny bit of Romano (pecorino) in a few recipes.  Most of the time Parmesan causes me problems.  Feta is a fresh cheese and some goat cheeses (chèvre) are fresh.  Fresh mozzarella is really good.  Anything aged over 4 months can be very high in histamine.  I can eat cottage cheese and yogurt, but some people have problems with those.

I just read some articles regarding research into producing aged cheeses without histamine.  Apparently, there's a bacterial strain that can stop other organisms from producing histamine.  Hope they figure that one out soon!