Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Heart issues? (Read 9136 times)
Enko
Guiding Light

Heart issues?
09/27/11 at 08:31:37

I have no diagnosis yet, but I would like to hear your side of the story on heart issues.

I'm diagnosed with mitral valve prolapse. I also have tachycardia, AV blocks (II. degree Wenckenbach) with pauses that reach 1,69s because blocked atrial extrasystoles and sometimes nodal rhythm of frequency 85/min (in sleep). I'm not prescribed any therapy. What are your experiences with heart problems?

你会说汉语吗?

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Heart issues?
Reply #1 - 09/29/11 at 04:36:52

First of all, Enko, I want to tell you, YOUR ENGLISH IS GREAT!!!!!   You've worked VERY harda studying, I can tell!!   Congratulations!!

Now, on to the heart issues.   Masto does indeed cause some heart issues, but it's not known to cause SERIOUS heart damage.  Yes, the mediators affect the heart and most of us have arrhythmias namely being tacchycardia.  However, there are no studies into what exactly mastocytosis does to the heart function yet.  In this respect, our doctors are blind and have nothing to lead them on.  

So, what do they do?   They treat the symptoms.   By taking antihistamines, leukotreine blockers and mast cell mediators, they help to reduce some of the effects of the mediators which the mast cells put out.   What is left over our cardiologists put us on ACE inhibitors and other heart medication.  Although most doctors want to put us on beta blockers this is contra-indicated because if you were to need epinephine, the beta blockers interfere with the epinephrine and make it less effective I believe, thus it puts your life into danger when you are already in danger with anaphylaxis.   So, this is why most of us are on ACE inhibitors instead.