Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Bone Marrow Test Results (Read 4962 times)
jbean
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Bone Marrow Test Results
04/25/11 at 10:53:13

Hi.  Just curious if anybody else has any knowledge of what percent of their mast cells are activated?

Apparently now I do have the ckit also.

IP Logged

DeborahW, Founder
FOUNDER/ADMIN

USA
Re: Bone Marrow Test Results
Reply #1 - 04/25/11 at 12:20:49

So, what does that mean, Jill?

Feel well!
DeborahW, founder
IP Logged

jbean
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #2 - 04/25/11 at 15:06:52

I have no idea!  Not all that up on this.  Maybe more "masto-ey" than before.  I suppose I would be since it's been seven years since I had the last one done.

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #3 - 04/25/11 at 17:07:22

As to the c-kit, I'm struggling over that myself Jilly.  I believe that if it shows the mutation then yes, that's a major criteria for SM however, the percentage of reactive MCs I've no idea!!!!

Sorry!

My question is, with the C-kit marker, CD117, is that supposed to be negative or is it supposed to be positive with mastocytosis?  I'm stuck on that one!  Sad

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

Joan
FORUM ADVISOR

Colorado
Reply #4 - 04/25/11 at 18:17:16

If you mean what percent of the bone marrow is made up of mast cells, then 25 percent or more is diagnostic for SM.  The real significance is when a patient shows symptoms of organs not functioning properly, which will be recognizable on a routine CBC, and is rare.