Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
A little venting about triggers (Read 3536 times)
Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana
A little venting about triggers
04/28/11 at 15:07:21

I'm really good about the triggers I can avoid... gluten, histamine, sun, heat, exercise, etc...  Unfortunately, right now I'm stuck with a bunch of triggers that I can't do much about!!  It's the end of a very busy semester (I'm a professor), mold and pollen counts are through the roof, we've been having wave after wave of stormy weather, our washing machine needs to be repaired or replaced, and... to top it off... it's that time of the month when I'm extra reactive and I get attacks of severe abdominal pain.

Today the pain hit around 2:00 Sad  I took a Lortab and it faded away... I got some grading done.  Around 4:00 it started coming back again.  So... as per my doctor's instructions... I took a second Lortab.  That helped, but around 5:00 I started getting really tired.  Really, REALLY tired.  I had to concentrate on things I usually take for granted... like breathing and staying awake.  UGH!  Around 6:00 I took 50mg of liquid Benadryl and 40mg of emergency prednisone Sad  The pain was coming back and I had maxed out on pain medication.  I probably should have gone to the hospital... I was on the verge of asking one of my colleagues if they could drive me over there  Undecided  And then thankfully... the pain and the horrible fatigue/dizziness started fading away.  I'm still not quite back to normal, but doing much better than I was.

I was so close to going over the edge!!!!  I wouldn't say I was scared, but oh... some days I really, really wish I could just be normal.  I'm so grateful that I have an appointment coming up with Dr. Castells.  I can really use her advice.

Heather

We're all in this thing together
Walkin' the line between faith and fear