My Son's Story (Read 12512 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: My Son's Story
Reply #45 - 09/12/11 at 04:57:44

Judy,

I have NEVER heard of anyone saying this before!!!  And it really makes no sense otherwise weīd all be told to be OFF of our antihistamines and they wouldnīt premedicate us on purpose to get us reacting during the BMB!   There are plenty of us who do react during the BMBs, Iīm one, and they have to knock me out due to how reactive I get.  It put me into 2 hours of syncope afterwards and I kept reacting for about 3 weeks!  Did they find any MC aggregates?  NO!  

According to Dr. Luis Escribano, if your tryptase is low, which mine is at 4.6ng, the chances of finding the neoplams is also very low.  In order to do so, you would have to go through a very expensive and very special flow cytometry process which can be done at only 4 labs in the world.  This process does a very special enriching of the mast cells and only then are they able to see them to study them.  So, based upon your sonīs tryptase levels, you will NOT find those mast cells!

Does that mean you should not do the bone marrow biopsy?  NO!   If your doctors are looking specifically for Systemic Mastocytosis, then no, you should not do the biopsy and only do it based upon the tryptase levels.  However, if you are talking about the other forms of masto, then, due to how reactive your son is, Iīd say yes.  The reason why is because there is a great deal that can be learned by studying the bone marrow and it can reveal what is going on with your son.