Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Visit YaBB today Wink
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Idiopathic Anaphylaxis (Read 14610 times)
Tess
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!

Idiopathic Anaphylaxis
02/09/11 at 04:24:55

Is there anyone here that has been diagnosed with idiopathic anaphylaxis and doesn't feel 100 % at any time betweeb events?  I struggle with fatigue and pain and an "off" stomach at the end of the day.  Light exercise helps with the pain and benedryl helps my stomach, but I'm not sure what will help with the fatigue.  I tried gastrocrom, but it seemed to add to my stomach problems.  I was wondering if the other mass cell stabilizer they sell in Canada (can't think of the name of it) would help with the fatigue.  Any suggestions?

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Idiopathic Anaphylaxis
Reply #1 - 02/09/11 at 08:16:05

Hi Tess,

We do have those here diagnosed with IA, Debbie is one.  

Depending upon your symptoms, your test results and your doctor, you may have ended up with a diagnosis of IA or not.  Some of th researchers used to diagnose IA when the patient couldn't fit into the WHO diagnosis for Systemic mastocytosis.  Some get this diagnosis when they can't show any proof of mast cell activation.  As of September, we are all waiting to know what has come of that meeting to know what is going to officially define what is the diagnosis for a mast cell activation disorder versus that of IA and other forms.  So, this is anybody's guess as to how it's going to be.

However, with IA, Dr. Akin's work on these patients proves that some of them are in truth SM patients because in spite of the fact that they could not find any kind of proof of mast cell activation, 1/3 of the patients had mutations on their genes with their mast cells!  So, for all basic purposes, IA is considered a mast cell disorder.  That being so, we are all treated with the same medications.