Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Moles or freckles? (Read 10784 times)
missybean
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!
Washington
Re: Moles or freckles?
Reply #15 - 02/02/11 at 06:05:12

Yes, I will have them do that as well. But I did have a CBC in May of 2010. Came back normal.
Melissa

IP Logged

ruth
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #16 - 02/02/11 at 15:42:05

Lisa do you have any links to articles talking about the aneamia connection?  This has been one of the consistent features of my life, and also a tendency for my son too.

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #17 - 02/02/11 at 17:27:06

Ruth,

I believe that this is pretty much an "understood" by the doctors mainly because the mast cell is a white blood cell and when it is triggered it calls other white blood cells into action.  And since with the neoplastic form of mastocytosis it causes an invasion of the bone marrow and pancreas and liver and other tissues and this ends up diminishing the ability to form red blood cells.  

I have done a bone marrow biopsy and in my marrow they found that I was iron poor.  This means that my stores of iron are low - I am essentially anemic.  However, my doctors told me that I'm not showing anemia because my periferal blood shows good iron levels.  This is because my other organs are doing their job properly - it's my bone marrow which is being attacked.  

I don't have any research on this, however Heather is our blood related expert and I think that she's probably got information on this if anyone of us has!    But you can also try googling anemia and mastocytosis and see what you come up with!  This is what I'd do!  It works pretty well!

Sorry!

Lisa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana