Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
please help me understand tryptase testing (Read 7532 times)
peter
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: please help me understand tryptase testing
Reply #15 - 05/22/14 at 18:52:13

Joan when I had a brake with Zometa the tryptase started going back up when I went back on Zometa the tryptase stopped going up but it might have been treating the leftover cancer cells from the tumor we don't know how all this work's but I do know What happened

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #16 - 05/23/14 at 10:04:47

Peter, there's a difference between the mast cells which are genetically damaged by the defect for mastocytosis and those mast cells which are completely normal.  IgE release destroys mast cells - it doesn't "damage" them.  

This is what I'm saying.  When you have chronic IgE activation you are not damaging any MCs.  A normal, functioning, healthy MC ends up exploding to smithereens when it is triggered by IgE.   So, it can't go on to doing anything else - it's totally destroyed.  

In mastocytosis the MCs when they trigger by anything other than IgE only degranulate and then recompose the granules.  They aren't destroyed and since they are already damaged the triggering doesn't do any extra damage.  It's already damaged.  

Something I didn't know but one of my doctors told me is that when you have any kind of a disease like masto, one that works around neoplasms, there is always a higher risk to having other neoplastic diseases.  In mastocytosis there is a higher risk due to the presence of the defect.