Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New Canadian member (Read 3028 times)
jfneron
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!

New Canadian member
03/17/13 at 04:33:51

My name is Jean-Francois Neron and i live in Quebec city, CANADA. I have received a diagnostic of Mast Cell Activation Syndrome/Urticaria last week. I am now looking to get in touch with other people suffering from this disease. I have so much to learn!

My problems started in 2008 after I returned from a 2-month stay in Afghanistan (I work as a photographer for the Canadian Armed Forces). Don't know if it was caused by the stress of being there or by all the vaccines that I had to get to deploy in that country, but I became very sick as soon as I came back home. I suffer from low back pain, diarrhea, inflammation, blisters in my mouth, burning mouth syndrom, arthritis, chest pain, sleep apnea, POTS...

JF

IP Logged

jfneron
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: New Canadian member
Reply #1 - 03/17/13 at 04:49:16

Oh, by the way, I have been on Zyrtec and Singulair for more than a year now, which aleviate many symptoms but not completely, but the new immunologist I met last week want to start me on Xolair injections. Was told that this new medication will completely fix my symptoms. Xolair is normally prescribed for allergic asthma but was recently officially recognized as the best treatment for urticaria... Have anyone heard that?

IP Logged

Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana
Reply #2 - 03/18/13 at 00:36:30

Welcome to the group!

I have heard of people using Xolair to treat chronic urticaria... ICUS is a good source of information about that (http://chronichives.com/).  A few people in this group have tried it too.  In the US it's very expensive and difficult to get your insurance to pay for unless you have asthma.