Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Singulair side effects? (Read 5155 times)
bongaan
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!
South Africa
Singulair side effects?
12/03/12 at 01:45:05

Somewhere on this forum I read about generic versions of Singulair, some people were contemplating whether they will have some side effects from the generic or not. This is the first time in my life that I've ever heard about generics causing side effects which brand name versions don't due to difference in ingredients such as colorants. I've never used any montelukast drugs before and started my first day ever on a generic version of Singulair called Topraz. It caused a high in the first day and then it moved over to irritability, agitation and even aggresiveness. So much so that I immediately stopped using it. (I even speeded with my car out of frustration, 190km/h where 100km/h is the legal limit Embarrassed)

Now what I am trying to figure out is whether it is the montelukast itself that I don't tolerate or is it the other ingredients? And whether I will be fine if I use Singulair instead of Topraz?

Does somebody here have any experience with this?

IP Logged

PamH
Mentor

Indianapolis, IN USA
Re: Singulair side effects?
Reply #1 - 12/05/12 at 09:10:17

I have not tried the generic singular because I no long take it. Just didn't seem to do much for me and less is best is my meds policy!
I was told that legally they only have to put 20% of the original medicine in a generic and the rest can be filler.

Usually red 40 and yellows in inactive ingredients can cause issues.  Can you look up and list the ingredients here so we can have a look at them?

You should be about to go to the pharmacy and buy a few name brand ones to test.

Pam

IP Logged

DeborahW, Founder
FOUNDER/ADMIN

USA
Reply #2 - 12/05/12 at 09:28:36