Send Topic Print
No more denial (Read 10699 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: No more denial
Reply #15 - 07/16/12 at 12:32:40

Cindi, as to surgery, you have no need to fear dying during it.  I've gone through probably the most dangerous form of surgery a masto patient can face, Open Heart Surgery, and came out beautifully and quite alive!  When the doctors know what is wrong and use the appropriate medications and take the appropriate precautions we can indeed go through even the highest risk surgeries.  Yet you are wise to be cautious for surgery and masto are exceedingly dangerous if the doctors are not on board.   So, I think you're wise to go slowly with this and you should for it's your life that is at risk here and not those doctors.  Find more information about your illness so that they can plan properly for surgery and then once they do, you can get through it as well as I did with mine.  Trust me, my surgery was really the king of all surgeries for masto patients and when the doctors know what they are dealing with and plan accordingly, even this surgery can be done.   Yet, having said this, if the doctors don't take it seriously even minor surgery can present serious threats.   So, again, go slow until they KNOW what they are dealing with and then when you feel that they are 100% on board, then you can RELAX and allow them to do their job.

Hugs!

Lisa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

Sweet Tea
Rookie

Never ever ever give up

Charlotte, NC
Reply #16 - 07/16/12 at 14:54:44