Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Yeast Infection vs Allergic Reaction HELP!!! (Read 4911 times)
Charee
Rookie

Someday things will get
better!?!
Maple Valley, WA
Yeast Infection vs Allergic Reaction HELP!!!
03/01/12 at 13:23:29

Hi Everyone,
I am a newbie with a very delicate problem. Huh I have what I thought was a yeast infection, but after treating it for a couple of days with over the counter meds it only got more swollen and painful. I also noticed a hive on my buttocks. All this while I am on 30mg of Prednisone.
So I went to my primary care doctor who said he thought it was yeast and did some test and gave me some Diflucan.
As well as this problem I have also been flushing almost constantly all day and I am having tinnitus.
Has anyone ever had a reaction like this, to cleansers or something?
I am completely on my own it seems, as my primary care doctor is completely clueless when it comes to MCAD.
Does anyone know if Diflucan is ok to take with MCAD?
Thanks guys,
I will send an introduction when I feel better
Charee

IP Logged

Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana
Re: Yeast Infection vs Allergic Reaction HELP!!!
Reply #1 - 03/03/12 at 08:05:08

Hi Charee,

Although prednisone does amazing things and is sometimes necessary in the short-term, it also reduces the activity of your immune system, which leaves you vulnerable to infections.  It's not only OK to take diflucan... I highly recommend it in this situation, since infection is a mast cell trigger and that's probably more dangerous than the drug!

Heather

ps - Welcome to the group Smiley

We're all in this thing together
Walkin' the line between faith and fear
This life don't last forever
When you cry I taste the salt in your tears
(Old Crow Medicine Show)

IP Logged

Joan
FORUM ADVISOR

Colorado
Reply #2 - 03/03/12 at 08:25:34