Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Rubber (Read 3444 times)
Anaphylaxing
Guru

Hang in there! You can
do it!

Rubber
01/23/12 at 18:01:46

I noticed on the Canadian mastocytosis survey they asked about rubber avoidance. Does anyone know why?

Is it latex contamination?  Or separate?  I know my rubber boots have quite the smell so I never get my face to close to them. And, I've always avoided latex as the gloves give me a rash...

Cool

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Rubber
Reply #1 - 01/24/12 at 00:04:37

Ana,  many of us seem to have issues with things like bandaides and surgical tape, especially the kind that is thick, white and heavy.  The micropore tape seems more tolerable, but most of us will have raised welts from things like the stickers used for EKG monitors, etc.   And yet we seem to tolerate latex for surgeries and tubes, etc.   Only some of us seem to be latex intolerant.

Why this is, I, for one haven~t the slightest and prior to my masto coming out of hiding I never had an issue with bandaides or anything like that.   But once it did, I began reacting.   All I can figure is that there is something about the higher levels of histamine in our skin tissues which makes us more sensitive to these things causing things like contact urticaria.  It may not be the rubber in and of itself nor even the glues used, but the physical process of constricting or stressing of the skin tissues that create the problem, like a waistband which is too tight or socks with the elastic that is too tight - the pressing of the skin itself may be the issue here and not the thing which is pressing it.