Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
What should I eat? (Read 12327 times)
vicmjones
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

What should I eat?
01/17/12 at 08:44:37

I am new to this Masto stuff and am really confused on what I should eat. I know that I react to wheat, wine, cheese. I think I react to all alcohol except Vodka, almonds, tomatoes, a lot of fruits. But I am not sure. What should I do? I can't seem to figure this all out. If I start on an elimination diet, what do I eat? Rice and cabbage? Help!

IP Logged

Anaphylaxing
Guru

Hang in there! You can
do it!

Re: What should I eat?
Reply #1 - 01/17/12 at 09:02:41

Everyone is unique but there are some more common triggers that lots of masto people have like chocolate Sad, cheese, alcohol, and tomatoes

If you want to check out the low histamine diet by the urticaria society; that's what some of us follow, but yes I cut it down to one or two things trying to find safe foods and am introducing one at a time it is painstaking and hard to find things I don't react to

check out the low histamine list as a start

What is your food reaction? Cool

IP Logged

Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana
Reply #2 - 01/17/12 at 12:31:03

I did an elimination diet earlier this year under a doctor's guidance.  For the first four weeks I ate:

- Meat (no fish, no seafood... although I was sorely tempted by fresh raw oysters a friend had gathered)
- Blueberries
- Dates
- Sweet potatoes
- White rice
- Clarified butter (ghee)
- Salt

Boring, but effective!  After that I slowly started adding other foods back in (corn, oatmeal, beans, fruits and vegetables, herbs, etc...).  Here are the foods I'm still avoiding...

- Shrimp (I'm allergic)
- Gluten
- Raw tomatoes (makes my mouth tingle)
- Foods related to ragweed (chamomile, melons)
- Foods related to latex (banana, kiwi, avocado)
- Leftover meat, aged beef
- Aged cheese (a sprinkle seems to be OK)
- Foods that have been fermented or pickled