Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Welcome to our forum.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Doctor in Pittsburgh area? (Read 2936 times)
m0xie
Rookie

Doctor in Pittsburgh area?
11/08/11 at 08:08:31

Does anyone have any recommendations for a good masto doctor (or a doctor familiar with mast cell disorders) in the Pittsburgh area? I don't have a diagnosis yet but unfortunately am not able to travel far right now in order to see one of the researchers.

If there isn't anyone around Pittsburgh, Cleveland is about a two hour drive for me, is there anyone good at Cleveland Clinic?

Thanks!

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Doctor in Pittsburgh area?
Reply #1 - 11/09/11 at 12:24:25

Hey Moxie, I made a reply to this in the other thread.   Again, to the best of my knowledge, there isn't anyone.  

The ONLY one who was even close was Dr. Leonard Bernstein in Cinncinatti, but he has retired and his son is not up to par with masto.   Cleveland Clinic is not good either.   Your closest authority is Dr. Lawrence Schwartz in Richmond Virginia.  Since I know that drive, it's a 5hr drive to DC and then 2 more down to Richmond.  

Lisa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

m0xie
Rookie

Reply #2 - 11/10/11 at 02:12:43

Hi Lisa,

Thanks for your reply. I got an appointment with Dr. Afrin in South Carolina. It's a bummer there aren't more doctors familiar with mast cell disorders.  Sad I hope that changes soon.

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #3 - 11/10/11 at 06:07:00

I'm sure it will now.  The MCAS diagnosis is a much more encompasing diagnosis and there are a great deal more people with this form of MC disorder than the very limited SM.  Once doctors begin to disseminate this diagnosis, it will stir more interest and knowledge.