Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
From fibro to masto with a few detours in between! (Read 11585 times)
kimtg68
Guru

Alabama
Re: From fibro to masto with a few detours in between!
Reply #15 - 10/31/11 at 13:28:47

So the MMAS is different then MCAS OR MCAD? actually I think I read somewhere that MCAS and MCAD were basically the same thing.
Thankyou for the explanation and help.

IP Logged

Joan
FORUM ADVISOR

Colorado
Reply #16 - 10/31/11 at 17:06:03

Lisa,

Thanks for the explanation(s), and I would love to have the fibromyalgia report.  I think you are coordinating the researchers quite well in all this! Wink  Wish things were easier for all of us!

Joan

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #17 - 10/31/11 at 23:21:15

First, letīs go back to the umbrella term:  Mast Cell Disorders.   This umbrella term has to do with any kind of proven disorder of the mast cell.   The original umbrella term was Mastocytosis.  Yet the CYTOSIS part of this means the invasion of mast cells within the tissues.   However, in the 80s Drs. Roberts and Oates from Vanderbilt studied patients and found that there was not just the issue of proliferation but also that of activation.  However, from what seems apparent, the researchers, because they could not genetically prove anything wrong with the mast cells other than with those patients who had the proliferation form, the WHO criteria was established based upon this pathological proof, thus the strict criteria of those patients.