Send Topic Print
Elevated ESR and CRP (Read 4488 times)
missybean
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!
Washington
Elevated ESR and CRP
09/03/11 at 04:39:53

I just wanted to ask, does anybody know if masto can causes elevated ESR and CRP levels. I'm currently having a flare and I had an elevated CRP but normal ESR.
Melissa

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Elevated ESR and CRP
Reply #1 - 09/03/11 at 04:43:53

I believe that they can, but to what extent I don't know.  Also it may be possible that only one of the two markers would be elevated but I really don't know a whole lot about these markers, however.   Yet funny thing, my biopsies showed tons of chronic inflammation but both of these markers were normal on me.  

Melissa, masto is a disease of a contradiction of terms. Mast cells are responsible and totally involved in inflammatory processes, and yet, in my case, these markers for inflammation were negative in spite of the physical proof of inflammation.   Why?  I've not a clue!  

Lisa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

missybean
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!
Washington
Reply #2 - 09/03/11 at 06:33:17

Thank you Lisa. Hope you are doing and feeling well. I was trying to determine if masto is the cause of this flare I seem to be in that mostly doesn't seem to be responding to extra antihistamines. Who knows? Time to move on. Thank goodness for the prednisone right now.
Hugs!
Melissa

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #3 - 09/04/11 at 15:09:56