Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
MASTOCYTOSIS & AORTIC ANEURYSM STUDY AT HARVARD (Read 14330 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
MASTOCYTOSIS & AORTIC ANEURYSM STUDY AT HARVARD
07/01/11 at 13:36:23

I have been speaking with Dr. Craig Basson, a cardiologist, authority in hereditary aortic aneurysms and also a researcher in genetic and molecular cardiological defects as well as a researcher of the involvement of mast cells in the cardiovascular system.  Dr. Basson and Dr. Christine Seidman, who is a world renown authority in cardiovascular genetics and a major researcher in mast cell involvement in other pathologies, head an NIH study on aortic aneurysms and other vascular aneurysms.  I am enrolled in this study due to my own family's history of hereditary/familial aortic aneurysms.  

In speaking with both Dr. Basson and Dr. Seidman I have raised my concerns as to us masto patients for there is a very strong suspicion as to my masto having a very large influence upon my hereditary aortic aneurysm.  There is recent research coming out of the Seidman Lab at Harvard proving that mast cells are very much involved in aneurysms and that there is definitive MC mediator release involved.  

I have asked these doctors if it might be possible for masto patients with known aortic aneurysms to be included in this study.  He said YES!  

This study is a GOLDEN opportunity for us masto patients for there are almost no studies being performed on how masto affects our bodies!  The majority of the studies on masto patients still has to do with the diagnostic angle of the disease and our researchers don't have enough help to know how masto affects and changes our bodies!!!  This study, in looking at us patients as well as hereditary aneurysm patients will help to gain more understanding as to the mast cell's role in aneurysms!