Send Topic Print
autoimmune? (Read 4045 times)
cjoy
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!
Nebraska, USA
autoimmune?
03/25/11 at 14:12:55

New to all of this and my son has idiopathic anaphylaxis.  We have a lot of autoimmune diseases on both sides of the family.  Are mast cell disorders autoimmune?

Now is the moment of opportunity ~ Choose Joy!

IP Logged

Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana
Re: autoimmune?
Reply #1 - 03/26/11 at 00:16:58

Hi Joy,

This question is right up my alley, but I don't have time to answer it right this minute... I'll try to get back to you later today Cheesy

Heather

We're all in this thing together
Walkin' the line between faith and fear
This life don't last forever
When you cry I taste the salt in your tears
(Old Crow Medicine Show)

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #2 - 03/26/11 at 02:09:00

Big question Joy, but I'll try to make this short.  LOL!

Technically no.  At least not what is called Systemic Mastocytosis.

So that I don't repeat a LOT of explanation Joy I need you to go read my reply to Adele where I explained today the difference between the proliferative versus activation disease.  http://mastcelldisorders.wallack.us/yabb/YaBB.pl?num=1300616439/14#14

This explanation give to you an understanding as to what is clonal versus non-clonal and this is where the major issue lies.