Very Low Serotonin (Read 3587 times)
missmarple
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

Very Low Serotonin
03/09/11 at 11:25:18

Hi all

Hope everyone is OK.

I have had a negative for carcinoid - yay - but my doctor noted that my serotnin levels were practically non existent.

Apart from it meaning I am blooming depressed (well spotted!!) is there any significance for mast cell disease does anyone know??

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Very Low Serotonin
Reply #1 - 03/09/11 at 12:29:48

Hi Sarah,

I hope you've been well.

The serotonin levels are a finding that was related to finding in mastocytosis patients.  They were studied only with masto patients but it's possible that they might be related in other allergy related diseases like angioedema but there's only been research by Dr. Dean Metcalfe of the NIH in Bethesda, Maryland as both above normal levels and way below normal levels.  

Mine are way below normal.  If you want, I can send you a copy of this article.  Send me you email address and I'll send you a copy.

Lisa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

missmarple
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #2 - 03/09/11 at 13:33:44

Hi Lisa.

Do you notice the lack of serotonin coz I sure as heck do???!!

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #3 - 03/10/11 at 00:50:48

Gee, Sarah, I think I'd have to take something to up my serotonin in order to know if I'm worse without it or not.  I don't know.   I have a lot of activity and perhaps it would improve if I could replace what's lacking.  However, I do know that if I take any SSRIs which interfere with the little I have that YES then I can tell cause it causes me to have more activity then normal.  They've not put me into anaphylaxis, but I certainly felt the interference!