Send Topic Print
Flushing ?? (Read 2985 times)
Stacy
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!
MA
Flushing ??
02/22/11 at 14:08:53

I'm probably going to call Dr. Castells office if this happens again, but not sure if anyone had any advice.

My son (22months) has been flushing a lot more lately.  I have given him benadryl the last 2 days because he has been flushing and some of his UP & mastocytoma have "flared"  honestly...I have not changed anything in his diet or our environment.  We were home (he did not go out) the days this happened.  

Thoughts???  I'm wondering if maybe he needs med adjustments.  We have increased all 3 of his meds 1x since he started, Zantac from 1.0ml to 1.2 ml, zyrtec from .5 tsp to 3/4 tsp.  hmmmmm

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Flushing ??
Reply #1 - 02/22/11 at 14:13:04

Hi Stacy, sorry to hear this news!

Yes, most definitely call Dr. Castells for several reasons, to help identify what the flushing is from.  Perhaps it's due to his being older and bigger now and thereby needing more meds.  Also, due to the fact he's a baby, their medications react within their bodies differently than with us adults.  Due to his body build and weight, these are adjustments that a doctor has got to make.  It wouldn't be hard to over medicate a baby.  Also, you've got to see that the flushing my be due to some kind of virus he may be coming down with.  It's hard to know and this is why it's best if you speak with her and see if she can help you figure out what to do.

Hope he gets over this quickly!

Lisa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

Stacy
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!
MA
Reply #2 - 02/22/11 at 14:46:07

thanks...  

I'm trying to remember how much he has grown since his last med change.  We saw dr castells 2 months ago, so he's prob up a couple of pounds since we saw her.