Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Malignant Mast Cell Tumors Of Spleen (Read 2112 times)
bobkeenan
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!
Portland, or
Malignant Mast Cell Tumors Of Spleen
02/16/11 at 05:21:52

I have been diagnosed with Indolent Systemic Mastocytosis (5-6 yrs ago).  I manage it with lots of antihistamines and gastrocrom.

I was just given access to our medical systems "mychart" site.  Where you can see results of recent tests, immunization records, appointments, and health history.

Under the health history I found this statement "Malignant Mast Cell Tumors Of Spleen".    Is that another way of saying Mastocytosis?  It sounds bad.   I wrote a note to my doctor to ask and am waiting.  Note that this is in history and I have not had any tests or comments about my spleen for about 4 years.

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Malignant Mast Cell Tumors Of Spleen
Reply #1 - 02/16/11 at 08:54:45

Hi Bob!!

It's really hard to interpret what some exam results mean for sometimes they aren't worded properly.   And yest, that sounds bad, but don't get freaked out yet, my friend, for it may not be so.  

I hope that Tiago will pop in here for I'm sure he'll have more to say about this.  First of all, you need your doctor's opinion as to this, for it's not just enough to find one exam and build the diagnosis on that, you need the whole picture.