Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  YaBB is sponsored by XIMinc!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Benadryl confusion (just spoke to Dr. Castells) (Read 6600 times)
nycpots
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!
New York, NY
Benadryl confusion (just spoke to Dr. Castells)
02/03/11 at 08:03:23

Hi gang,

I just spoke to Dr. Castells by phone as i've been having some bad lip / tongue / mouth swelling and she told me I could use Benadryl up to 200 mg / day if it helped and that there was no issue with that.

I know I read on this board lots of folks mentioning rebound issues and the fact that it can cause further degradation of mast cells, etc.  but she said this wasn't the case. I'm so confused...where did folks who have been told to be wary of too much Benadryl hear it was something to be careful of? I'd love any feedback......

Thx so much!

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Benadryl confusion (just spoke to Dr. Castells)
Reply #1 - 02/03/11 at 08:13:24

Hmmmm Well this is news to me Brita!!

If I remember correctly this information was given by Nancy Gould to one of our members here.  Nancy is a very well respected masto patient and lay researcher.  Nancy is a nurse who is now retired and she has SM, but Nancy's been studying and researching masto and MCAD and Dr. Castells knows her well.  I never questioned this information about benedryl due to the fact of who Nancy is and her reputation amongst the masto world.  

So, this is very interesting information you've got there and if this is what Dr. Castells herself has to say, then as far as I'm concerned, I'll no longer question it either.  Dr. Castells is not only the doctor here, but an international authority with a PhD to match it and I'll take her word over that of any patient and the majority of other doctors out there every time!

Lisa

Don´t forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged