Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Signup for free on our forum and benefit from new features!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Damage from mediators, regardless of antihistamines??? (Read 9981 times)
peter
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: Damage from mediators, regardless of antihistamines???
Reply #15 - 01/31/11 at 10:26:37

hi joan this is the best ??? on this site and it needs to be ansawed
antihistamines and mast cell stablizers only block the
symptoms thay do not stop the damage
one is ostoprosis and there are a lot moore
peter

IP Logged

peter
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #16 - 02/13/11 at 09:40:57

lets add a cuppel moore
inflammotry bowel disease
full body inflammation
full body ostoarthritis
gout
putting names to simptoms

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #17 - 02/13/11 at 14:55:18

I think it's very important that we are working with two different disease entities and no longer one that of mastocytosis and mast cell activation.  

In the case of mastocytosis, so much of the damage incurred is not just the damage the activation of the mast cells cause but also the damage caused by the invasion of the aberrant mast cells into tissues.  When those neoplastic mast cells don't die off as they should, they are going to take up space.  The more they are degranulated, the more they are called into action and thus more invastion of the tissues there.  Because they don't die off when they should, they end up taking up the space and crowding the tissues there and this causes damage, not only in that they need more room, but also with the concentrated mediator release they will cause the problems within the bone marrow and spleen and pancreas, etc.  So, you have two major problems going on, not just one.