Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
tryptase normal what next (Read 6151 times)
Kalle
Ex Member

tryptase normal what next
05/30/14 at 01:51:44

As I suspected since I was not having a reaction, my tryptase levels all normal.  Taking into consideration that I'm dealing with a physician that knows nothing about MCAD, what test would you recommend I ask for next?  Is there a specific blood test that will show mast cells even though I'm not having a severe reaction?   I appreciate your help.

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: tryptase normal what next
Reply #1 - 05/30/14 at 06:00:10

Hi Kalle,

A normal tryptase does NOT rule out a mast cell disorder.   This has been well established because there are primary and secondary causes of mast cell disorders and this may be what explains the low trytpase in many of us.  

You can ask for a 24hr urine histamines or urine methylhistamines and also a 24hr PGD2 and PGF2 test - prostaglandin D2 and Prostaglandin F2.   Some other doctors like to also test serum heparine levels, serum serotonin and 5-HIAA which is a urine serotonine teste.  Then there is also Chromogranin A.   These last two are for the carcinoid syndrome but in masto patients they can also be part of the overall picture, so it's good to have those done as well.  

I hope this helps!

Lisa

Don΄t forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

peter
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #2 - 05/30/14 at 11:30:53