Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Seizures? (Read 8882 times)
PJP123
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!

Seizures?
05/07/13 at 12:06:21

An 11 year old girl on my daughter's soccer team had a seizure and fell off her chair, she was in a coma and came out.  She had 2 more seizures and is in a coma.  It's been 10 days.  

No doctor knows what is wrong with her.  It's not epilepsy or brain tumor.  My mind immediately went to mastocytosis.  Is it possible that all the docs at a prominent NYC hospital would know to check for this.  I wanted to mention it to the mom in an e-mail but thought I would be thought of as a lunatic.
I have read of seizures with masto.  Should I mention it?

IP Logged

lynda51
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!
WI
Re: Seizures?
Reply #1 - 05/08/13 at 20:50:24

This is really a hard question.

First of all I would like to say how sorry I am for this little girl,  her family,  and all those who witnessed this!  You must be terribly worried.

I am no doctor and certainly have very little experience with seizures.  All I can do is share a couple of things I went through.  Before I was diagnosed with MCAD,  I was taken by ambulance to the hospital where i spent three days.  I have absolutely no memory of anything about those three days. I was sent to a neurolist and had an EEG done on my last day there.   It came back abn
ormal! Some kind of seizure disorder was diagnosed and I was put on a drug called Keppra (a seizure drug)  daily.

When I was diagnosed with MCAD,  it was "implied" that it was most likely NOT a seizure i was experiencing
but it was mast cell degranulations.  There are many mast cells in the brain.  My PGD2 levels are high and I think I have read there is possibly some correlation between the two.  Now whether it could cause a comma,  I have bo clue.  I just know that it can cause an altered state of conscienceness. (Sp???....sorry,  its late.)