Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
A few exercise ideas (Read 5656 times)
Starflower
FORUM ADVISOR

Not a medical doctor
Indiana
A few exercise ideas
01/27/13 at 08:22:08

This year I made my first ever New Years resolution... to make use of my family's new household membership to the rec sports facilities at my university (I'm a professor).

I decided to focus on lifting weights Smiley  I did it in high school and always enjoyed it... it feels very powerful, especially as you're able to lift more.  I'm certainly not a body builder, but there are many benefits of having stronger muscles... better support for your bones and joints, increased metabolism (anyone else gain weight from all of their medications?), and perhaps most important for my current situation... it's a good workout that doesn't raise my core body temperature!  

A few tips if lifting weights sounds like a good idea to you...

1. Make sure you're using the equipment safely and effectively.  Ask for help if you've never done it before.

2. Stick with the "machines" (instead of free weights) until you're sure you have enough strength and balance to use them safely.

3. Pre-medicate, take your epipens with you (I keep mine strapped to my water bottle), and stay hydrated!  Listen to your body and take a break if you need to.  There's no rush.