Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
H. POTS and Mast Cell Actiation (Read 29527 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: H. POTS and Mast Cell Actiation
Reply #15 - 01/08/13 at 15:42:17

MGC wrote on 01/07/13 at 13:37:36:
Lisa:
I´ve spoken with several high authorities in masto regarding this and have gotten some excellent replies as to what can happen and yes, for some there may be a hyperadrenergic response going on due to the chemical chain reaction which all of the MC mediator release creates.

Lisa, I would really like to see something published on this, and until that happens, I am holding out. I have read and read, and can't put NE into the equation. Why would my NE be perfectly normal, then way overshoot when I stand? Something is just not adding up.

I do understand that we may release different mediators, but it seems that, in general, people do not believe Histamine would be on that selective release list.

Glad you are being evaluated for POTS. Make sure they test correctly for NE!

I would absolutely agree that research, papers and general knowledge is lacking. Wish they would all hurry up!

Hi Gail!   I´ll talk with the Drs about the norepinephrine, thanks for the suggestion.   I have shown high cortisol a couple of times when I was in the beginning and not on constant antihistamines but once I got on them, then I had a means of cutting the crisis and it was not taking my cortisol up to higher levels even though I get hypertensive.  

Gail, I spoke with Dr. Afrin a little while back about an unusual finding in my sister.   She appears to be MCAS and she´s also beginning to get hipertensive during reacting, like me.  She´s trying to get doctors to investigate her.   But at least she is getting some attention, which she has not been able to get since she was not showing anything altered before.