Send Topic Print
Silicone (Read 2376 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Silicone
05/11/12 at 13:45:53

My husband had the car cleaned professionally!  It's nothing new, he's done it in the past and it never bothered me.  So why did it send me to the ER this time???    I'VE NOT THE SLIGHTEST CLUE!!!! Angry

My husband left the car with me and had to go with someone in their car to another place while I was supposed to drive 10 minutes only to get home.  It was a warm day on Wednesday and knowing heat is always an issue I got into the hot car and turned on the AC as usual.  I knew he'd had the car cleaned and since it had never bothered me before, I figured all was fine now - I didn't have any reason for concern.   Although the smell was a bit strong, I didn't find it like perfume, overwhelming.  Just a bit chemically, that's all.  

I was about 2 minutes down the road when I began feeling my breathing become difficult and about a minute of two later found myself feeling weak.  By this time I realized I was in trouble, but I knew I had no where to stop to buy some water to take any meds and even if I did stop, I'd still have to get back into the car!  I was not in a good place to try to roll down all the windows either and considering that I've become sensitive to car fumes as well, this didn't seem to be a good idea, but then, I was beginning to find it difficult to think and reason things out anyway so, if my sense of logic wasn't working so well, I'm not surprised.  

At this point, my throught began getting tight and the dyspnea a bit worse and all I could think of was do I go to the ER or home?   If I go home, I'll be totally alone, if I go to the ER, how is it going to be, will they recognize this?!  How much work will it give me to convince them I'm in trouble?!