Send Topic Print
Elevated Heparin (Read 3225 times)
deblevstern
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

Elevated Heparin
05/02/12 at 16:34:51

Hi all,
I saw Dr. Afrin last week and he ran alot of tests to attempt to definitively diagnose MCAS. He doesn't have them all back but wrote me that my Heparin level was 4x the upper limit of normal and he doesn't know anything else that would do that. I am so excited that I may finally have found what is wrong with me but don't want to get my hopes up just yet.
Any feedback on this high Heparin level appreciated. Thanks so much. Debbie

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Elevated Heparin
Reply #1 - 05/04/12 at 02:48:14

Hi Debbie!!

Elevated Heparin levels was first cited by Drs. Roberts and Oates in the late 80s.  This is indeed confirmation of mast cell activation.   Itīs rarely asked for, however, which is why you donīt hear much about it.  

I fully understand your emotions!  Itīs a bittersweet thing this cause at one point weīre celebrating that finally something has been found to SHUT the mouths of the doctors who keep saying "Itīs all in your head"!!   So sad that the medical community has come to this point of so failing us.  Yet on the other point itīs a RELIEF that finally you can get some answers and with them, TREATMENT!!!   With treatment comes IMPROVEMENT!!!! Cheesy   And that is truly worth CELEBRATING!! Smiley

I suggest that you do something to commemorate the victory, for you are finally on the right road to diagnosis and the light at the end of the tunnel is growing stronger!!

Hugs!!

Lisa

ps - this is confirmation that you need to be on a mast cell stabilizer.  Ketotifen is cheapest.

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

deblevstern
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #2 - 05/11/12 at 15:34:36

Thanks Lisa. Are you aware of anything else that could cause high Heparin levels?