Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Neuro symptoms...meds? (Read 9249 times)
lynda51
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!
WI
Re: Neuro symptoms...meds?
Reply #15 - 04/03/12 at 17:26:23

Hi Julie,

I am no expert, but I was diagnosed with neurological problems BEFORE I was diagnosed with MCAD.  They did an EEG after several days in the hospital (for what I now  understand was a anaphylactic reaction). It was abnormal.  Because I had no idea about the mast cell issues at that point, they put me on Keppra (a seizure drug).  No one knows why, but it has helped my symptoms of dizziness and headaches a lot.

When I saw Dr. Afrin and he talked to me about my diagnosis of a "possible seizure disorder".  He felt that it was a degranulation episode that was causing the headaches, blurred vision and pain and even possibly the abnormal EEG..  He felt getting the mast cell disease under control would help with the other symptoms.

Also, some of us with Orthostatic problems can have a narrower channel in our neck area that can cause pain and even decreased blood flow to our brain.  I find when this type of combination of pain occurs as well as the visual problems, I seek out a physical therapist.  My PT has taught me the use of "pressure points" that calm damaged nerve endings. You identify those "trigger" areas and apply pressure which relaxes the nerve endings, and thus reduces the pain to the tissue around it.   It controls much of my pain without meds... I would not try this without the advice of a therapist knowledgeable in this.  Otherwise you can cause more pain than what you would otherwise relieve.