IP Logged

Julie M.
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!
DC Metro area
Re: Dr. Metcalfe
Reply #1 - 01/25/12 at 12:49:34

Hi Cindy,

I corresponded with him via email a few months ago.  I live in the same area as NIH (where he works and is very well known) and I emailed him asking if he knew of an allergist in the area that was familiar with MCAS.  It took quite a few weeks before he responded, but he did eventually.  He passed on the name of one of his former colleagues at NIH who is in private practice in our area.  Of course, he was quick to remind me that MCAS is a very contorversial diagnosis in the medical community.  I wasn't surprised that he added his two cents on this, as I already knew he wasn't a supporter of the MCAS diagnosis.  Oh well, at least I got the name of the allergist...his opinion on MCAS was irrelevant to me frankly!

Not sure that's any help, but that was my brief exchange with Dr. Metcalfe.

Julie

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #2 - 01/26/12 at 04:50:08

Julieīs right, Cindy.   Dr. Metcalfe doesnīt care to speak with patients and told me this personally a few years ago.   He will gladly speak with doctors, however, and prefers doing that.   You would be better off trying to speak with another of the researchers instead.

Julieīs also right about his position on MCAS which is why you wonīt see any studies on it coming out of the NIH.  Until more proof is supportive of this "controversial" diagnosis of MCAS, I doubt they will change their position.  

In speaking with others who are veterans in the websites and are respected among the masto community as having more involvement and history going back 10 years or more, I got to hear a few inside opinions regarding some of the authorities, their viewpoints regarding SM vs MCAS and the inside politics going on and it explained a great deal and confirmed a lot of what I was seeing.