Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  YaBB is sponsored by XIMinc!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
MCAD are you born with it? (Read 2971 times)
PJP123
Guiding Light

I Love YaBB 2!

MCAD are you born with it?
01/16/12 at 06:14:38

Are you born with mast cell disease or do you get sick?  

I feel like it's a slow simmering thing you're born with.

IP Logged

iamnotalone
Mentor

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: MCAD are you born with it?
Reply #1 - 01/16/12 at 06:22:59

Pjp;
Im 99.999% sure I read on here that a recent study concludeed it's genetic. Often times it's "brought out" by physical traumatic events.
Not certain, but think it was in the research section. I will try to find it
again n letcha know. Meanwhile, (again) there are others waaay more informed than I, & am sure they can add info.
lori

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #2 - 01/16/12 at 06:37:50

Hey PJ,

According to Dr. Gerhard Molderings of Germany and other genetic researchers, this is a genetic disease.  That includes MCAS.   What triggers it they donīt know and somehow our own DNA is involved in this too and this is why not one patient is alike.   But they do know itīs genetic which is why you canīt "catch"  it nor can you cause it.   Youīve got to inherit the genetic defect and from that point on only God knows for sure so far.  

So, you didnīt do anything to cause it, it was there when you were born, so you are right, itīs been a slow train coming.