Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  YaBB is sponsored by XIMinc!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
blood tests a trigger , is it possible? (Read 1866 times)
judy
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!
Australia
blood tests a trigger , is it possible?
12/19/11 at 21:20:25

Hi everyone,
I just wanted to know whether it is possible to trigger to blood tests, it is just a thought lately as twice now after a blood test something has happened, does not happen after every blood test though. Once was an anaphylactic episode about an hour after and just recently his petechual bruises that he already had, got absolutely massive the next day, probably up to five times bigger. Maybe it is just coincidence, keep better track of that in future.
Any thoughts
Judy

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: blood tests a trigger , is it possible?
Reply #1 - 12/20/11 at 14:48:32

Hi Judy,

I highly doubt that the removal of a few mm of blood are going to cause any real stress upon the system to the point it would trigger a reaction.  And if it did, the reaction would be right away, not hours or a day later.  

I´m pretty sensitive and I´ve reacted to a glucose tolerance test as well as the effects of some medications due to the stress they put my system through.  It´s known that some of us are this sensitive, but this would be the insertion of something.  It is known that a bolus injection (an injection where meds are given quickly) will cause histamine release and I´ve experienced this, but the removal of a few mm of blood generally should not do this.  

However, having said this, I have freaked out my hematologist because the BMB triggered intense reacting, something she was totally unprepared for.  However, this has been seen to happen amongst some of us.   I´ve never heard, however of a mere blood test doing this.