Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Dental triggers (Read 3331 times)
hb36
Tutor

I Love YaBB 2!

Dental triggers
09/14/11 at 07:29:24

Hi Everyone.  I was wondering if someone could help me understand why I would have had a fierce reaction to Mepivacaine with Epinephrine?  This was almost two years ago but I finally called the dentist to ask what they used in the shot.  This happened long before I knew I had POTS or suspected mast cell issues so at the time I didn't really know what was going on.  I just remember that I had a bad headache and literally could not get up off the floor at my house and my heart was beating out of my chest.  

I understand that I could have triggered from the Mepivacaine but wouldn't the epinephrine actually help me?  Maybe I had a hypertensive reaction and the epinephrine took my heart rate even higher?  I wonder what an Epi-pen would do to me?  

Thanks!

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Dental triggers
Reply #1 - 09/14/11 at 10:36:54

Hi HB!  

What happened is that you had a reaction to the mepivacaine.  This is one of the local anesthesias that we can NOT take.  The Epinephrine with it didn't give you any problems, it was this specific anesthesia which did.  NEVER take it again!!   And you will have to be on top of any anesthesia from here on out and must make sure your doctors know which kind you can handle from here on out.  

Also, I strongly recomend that you PRE-Medicate and give to your doctors the REMA protocols prior to any kind of surgery, even minor, which requires a local.  Both you and they need to be properly prepared before any kind of work can be done on you.   And, due to the anxiety which this reaction of yours created, it would be a good idea if you were to take an anti-anxiety medication as well.  We can trigger as much from the anxiety as anything else so too much precaution is never enough.