Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Radioactive Isotope Contrast (Read 5280 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Radioactive Isotope Contrast
08/09/11 at 01:09:17

Well, there's always a first and it HAD to be ME!  LOL.  

I had to do what is called a Renal Scintigraphy.  This is a nuclear exam that takes a look at the kidneys.  They use a type of contrast which does not cause reactions.  There are absolutely NO CASES reported for reacting to this solution.  I spoke with Dr. Luis Escribano and he said that it is not recognized to cause MC degranulation.  

Regardless, I REACTED!  

I had looked up on the internet and tried to find cases of masto patients regarding this contrast and I couldn't find a single case report.  I has been reported to be of use especially in regards to doing bone lesions studies with masto patients but there is not one report of a reaction.  I figured I was in the clear and didn't bother telling my doctors of when I'd do the exam nor even to pre-medicate.  THIS WAS MY MISTAKE!