Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Latest info can be found on the YaBB Chat and Support Community.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
UBI in the Knife and Gun Club - The Secret Language of Doctors & Nurses Richard Conniff (Read 4817 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
UBI in the Knife and Gun Club - The Secret Language of Doctors & Nurses Richard Conniff
06/13/11 at 18:17:03

UBI in the Knife and Gun Club
The secret language of Doctors and Nurses
By Richard Conniff

Smithsonian Magazine Oct 2009

Young doctors these days get trained to talk nice, think pretty thoughts and steer clear of malpractice lawyers.  So the colorful subculture of medical slang is probably CTD (“circling the drain”), if not DOA (“dead on arrival”), and that may be a good thing.  It was probably a little insensitive when doctors sticking a pulmonary artery catheter into a plus-sized person referred to it as “harpooning”.  And it was never great bedside manner to remark that a newly arrived motorcycle crash victim was GPO (“good for parts only”).  

But the bad old days, when medical life was more free-wheeling, “MASH-style humor was commonplace.  Patient reports were safely stashed away in the back office, so doctors felt free to scribble cryptic little notes to themselves, like FLK (“funny looking kid”) or even FLK with GLM (“good looking mom”).  The LOL in NAD (“little old lady” in ”no acute distress”) was the bread-and-butter of many medical practices, at least until she got transferred to the ECU (“eternal care unit”).  Or sometimes her family dumped her at the Knife and Gun Club (“emergency room”) without cause, generally as they were racing off on vacation.  When that happened , the language used by harried ER staffers tended to become unprintable.