Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sudden Masto Attack? (Read 2114 times)
r123
Rookie

I Love YaBB 2!

Sudden Masto Attack?
06/09/11 at 12:03:24

Last night I was on the train on the way home from where I work, and it was very hot out yesterday and I had rushed a bit to the train so I was flushed (although I flush usually at least once a day even if it's not hot, so that's not uncommon) however I got on the train and suddenly couldn't stop coughing and I couldn't catch my breath.

This has happened few other times, but only 3 of those times were bad, and two of them  were from IV Medication. This time however I don't know what caused it, and since I was by myself it was pretty scary. When I realized i wasn't going to stop coughing right away like I sometimes do, I took a benedryl and drank a bottle of ice water and I even took two vials of gastrocrom just in case it would help. I had my epipen but i've never used it before and I didn't want to unless I had to. After 10-15 minutes or so, the coughing slowed, although I was coughing a little for the rest of the night. After the coughing slowed my head started pounding, and my blood pressure felt low, although for the last few months it's not uncommon for my blood pressure to suddenly drop.

I contacted another Masto patient to ask what they do in that situation, besides use their epipen and they suggested having an inhaler, such as intal or (I can't remember the other name they mentioned)

What do you guys reccommend? I am off from work today, however I work again tomorrow (I have a 2+ hr commute) and I'd like to have something additional, such as an inhaler or something to bring with me just in case.

Also any tips for avoiding the sudden drops in blood pressure I often get?