Send Topic Print
PERFUME!!!! (Read 27519 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
PERFUME!!!!
03/16/11 at 14:49:54

I've listened to others tell their stories about people with perfume and felt so awful for them and all the while so thankful that this didn't seem to be one of my problems.    Well, NO MORE!!

My son used a new cologne today that my sister had given him on a recent visit and it was the first time I'd smelled it.  I've NEVER had a reaction to perfumes before, but this one did it!!  He needed a lift down the hill to the bus and I got into the car with him for only a few brief minutes, but we weren't in the car together more than a minute when my stomach began to turn and ache right away and I began to wonder what in the world was happening!   I have been able to use perfumes and have never had a reaction to even those which others have used other than perhaps an aversion or a headache.  But I've had that since I was a kid and it didn't change once the masto came around.  So I wasn't expecting to react to this perfume.  But react I did!  By the time my son was out of the car and I'd turned it around to return home, no more than 3 or 4 minutes had passed if that much.  But I began to feel so incredibly weak and I began to wonder if I could even get back home but then I thought, What else could I do but to keep going and GET HOME!!   So I went home and parked the car, left it totally opened and called for my husbands help as I got in the door.  He realized that something was wrong and began getting my antihistamines.  Yet, my stomach was so upset and I'd just finished eating my lunch and had taken my son to catch the bus while my husband finished his lunch.