Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  Visit YaBB today Wink
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Re: I'll be the first. (Read 3883 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: I'll be the first.
01/26/11 at 08:02:44

Hi Angela,

I'm really sorry you're going through such a hard time.  I think you don't know enough about lupus to be wanting it over masto, Angela, for of the two, this is the kinder disease to have.

Angela, it's really hard to tell you what to do other than to up your doses of allegra or another antihistamine because of the problem of needing prescriptions if I could I'd suggest that you take some atarax/hixizine at night time, since it's an antihistamine that passes the blood brain barrier and thus is more effective than some other meds.  Otherwise, I suggest that you get some zantac and zyrtec and start taking 300mg of zantack at AM and PM and 10mg of zyrtec at AM and right before you go to bed at night so as to help get you through the nights better.  This may be adequate to settle down some of this constant reacting you're doing.  

But here's the problem, Angela,  upping your antihistamines will help you, but without all of the proper testing you need to have done, it's hard to say exactly what is the best treatment.  You could be working with some angioedema and depending upon the mechanisms behind it, some meds are more effective than others.   So, this is why sometimes the treatment is not so effective.