Welcome, Guest. Please Login
MCD - Mast Cell Disorders
  YaBB is sponsored by XIMinc!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Numbing Medicine Reactions (Read 10334 times)
Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Numbing Medicine Reactions
01/03/11 at 12:20:39

Archived from Original Forum   -   Missybean50 author

I was wondering if anyone has ever had a reaction to numbing medicine? When I bad a thyroid biopsy a couple of years ago they injected me with some kind of numbing medicine and I felt awful after, I was flushing, hot, sweating , dizzy and nauseous and I couldn't stop crying. They doctor blamed it on anxiety. I have also had similiar reactions at the dentist while getting numbed. My heart races, I get hot and flush and fill just sick and I shake. I also felt sick and hot when they numb I have been also told it is a reaction to the epinephrine. Im I just more sensitive to epinephrine or is this a possible trigger?

Melissa

Donīt forget, there is so much more to life than being sick!

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Re: Numbing Medicine Reactions
Reply #1 - 01/03/11 at 12:21:58

Archived from Original Forum -  starflower author

Hi Melissa,
That sounds either like a true allergy or like a reaction to the epinephrine which is often used along with injected numbing agents (lidocaine, novocaine, etc...).  If you ask in advance, it is possible to get the injection without the epinephrine.  If that doesn't solve the problem, you could try one of the less common alternatives like bupivacaine.  Here's a nice little article about it:  http://allergies.about.com/od/medicationallergy/a/localanesthetic.htm

Heather

IP Logged

Lisa
FORUM MODERATOR/ADVISOR

I am not a doctor.
Volta Redonda, RJ Brazil
Reply #2 - 01/03/11 at 12:23:21

Archived from Original Forum  -  Kritterkrit author